How big of an audience do you really need to launch effectively? The answer is a lot less complicated than you think….
You need an audience of 1.
If only one person on Planet Earth followed you and knew about you, and if you created a program then launched it to them and they bought, you’d have a 100% conversion rate.
Obviously this isn’t what people want to hear right?
As you can see, everyone will have a different objective. “List size to what end?” is always the question we ask.
So let’s do a bit of an exercise today.
Do you just want permission to start? Permission granted as long as one person is following you.
Do you want to have something transformative happen in your life? Drill down what it is you’re actually asking. Get specific! Come up with tangible milestones.
“If it takes you two or three or four or five launches to reach that goal, are you okay with that?”
As John Maxwell says, “Everything worthwhile in life is uphill….all the way.”
If you answer, “Yes, I’m willing to go the distance!”, then proceed. If not, it might mean that either your expectations are mismanaged or you’re not as passionate about your online business as you thought. (Which is okay!) No matter your answer, this is still solid information to have.
Most people start TOO big. They try to do too much and quit. So don’t do that. Instead, pick one ORGANIC and one PAID method. Here are some options…
Then STICK to it. In Phase #2 of Launch Gorgeous, we tackle the list building through both organic and paid strategies—with a funnel and with content.
But here’s where most people don’t get it quite right…
They build a publishing plan that isn’t attached to any particular outcome or goal. It’s the spray and pray. It’s the “I just downloaded a bunch of prompts and captions and now I’m just posting for posting sake.” That’ll fall flat because social media and list building respond to one thing…
And when you forget that fact and just do it for the sake of the motion, the list building doesn’t work quite as well.
One more step…
There’s a common belief that on average your business will earn $1.00 per month per email address. That means if you want to earn $10,000 a month, you need a 10k list.
But at Funnel Gorgeous HQ, we’re averaging $100k months with an email list of 22,000 people so take that model with a grain of salt. What’s more important is to determine what your expectations should be in order to feel good about your launch!
In Launch Gorgeous + FG Society, we have a KPI exercise that helps you estimate how many people will see your offer in a launch, and how to create THREE possible outcomes… your minimum goal, your awesome goal, and your insane unicorn goal.
Simply put, the formula works like this….
If I get 100 people to see my offer for $100 and have a conversion rate of:
That means I’ll earn:
That depends on your engagement on social, your open rates and click rates. The hardest number to estimate is “humans to see the offer” and people wrongly assume with a 100 person list, there will be 100% of them that see the offer, and they won’t. That’s what we tackle more in depth in LG. How to truly understand your “humans to see your offer” number.
The sales conversion benchmarks are easier because most great offers convert between 1-5% for cold traffic and 3%-10% for warm. “Humans to see your offer” is the name of the game.
Maybe those aren’t huge numbers on your first go around, but if you just friggin pushed through and did the first launch, you could at the VERY least get momentum and market validation. Then the next time you launch, maybe it’s to 1000 people. Then 2000. Then 5000.
Notice with the next launch with 1000 people seeing your offer, you might just hit the 5 figure mark with a $100 offer. If it’s a $500 offer, now you’ve hit $50,000.
Most people simply don’t stay in the game long enough to reap the reward.